Aviation Legislators



The Convention on International Civil Aviation, also known as the Chicago Convention, established the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), a specialized agency of the United Nations charged with coordinating and regulating international air travel. The convention establishes rules of airspace, airplane registration and safety, and details the rights of the signatories in relation to air travel. 

From its beginning in 1944 it has grown to an organization with over 180 Contracting States. ICAO’s aim is the safe and orderly development of all aspects of international civil aeronautics.

ICAO sets the minimum Standards and Recommended Practices for international civil aviation. These standards are contained in 19 Annexes to the Convention. Individual States remain responsible for regulating their aviation industries but have to take into account the requirements of the Convention and the minimum standards established by ICAO.

The 19 annexes are as follows:

  • Annex 1 – Personnel Licensing
  • Annex 2 – Rules of the Air
  • Annex 3 – Meteorological Service for International Air Navigation
  • Annex 4 – Aeronautical Charts
  • Annex 5 – Units of Measurement to be Used in Air and Ground Operations
  • Annex 6 – Operation of Aircraft – Aeroplanes
  • Annex 7 – Aircraft Nationality and Registration Marks
  • Annex 8 – Airworthiness of Aircraft
  • Annex 9 – Facilitation
  • Annex 10 – Aeronautical Telecommunications
  • Annex 11 – Air Traffic Services
  • Annex 12 – Search and Rescue
  • Annex 13 – Aircraft Accident and Incident Investigation
  • Annex 14 – Aerodromes – Aerodrome Design and Operations, Heliports
  • Annex 15 – Aeronautical Information Services
  • Annex 16 – Environmental Protection – Aircraft Noise
  • Annex 17 – Security: Safeguarding International Civil Aviation Against Acts of Unlawful Interference
  • Annex 18 – The Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air
  • Annex 19 – Safety Management System (SMS)

For more information refer to www.icao.int




The Civil Aviation Organization of the Islamic Republic of Iran (CAO.IRI) is the Iranian National Aviation Authority (NAA) that is the government body responsible for civil aviation affairs within the country territory. CAO.IRI, as a member of ICAO, is mainly in charge of air safety and is engaged specifically for civil aviation long term strategies, generating regulations and standards, monitoring and controlling air transportation (including airlines and airports), investigating about incidents and accidents and …

For more information refer to www.cao.ir



The European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), established in 2002, is the centrepiece of the European Union’s strategy for aviation safety. Its mission is to promote the highest common standards of safety and environmental protection in civil aviation. The Agency develops common safety and environmental rules at the European level. It monitors the implementation of standards through inspections in the Member States and provides the necessary technical expertise, training and research. The Agency works hand in hand with the national authorities which continue to carry out many operational tasks, such as certification of individual aircraft or licensing of pilots.

For more information refer to www.easa.europa.eu



The International Air Transport Association (IATA) is a trade association of the world’s airlines founded in 1945. IATA has been described as a cartel since, in addition to setting technical standards for airline, IATA also organized tariff conferences that served as a forum for price fixing.

Consisting of about 290 airlines, primarily major carriers, representing 117 countries, the IATA’s member airlines account for carrying approximately 82% of total available seat miles air traffic.

One of the latest programs issued by IATA to increase the passenger flights safety has been the IATA Operational Safety Audit (IOSA). IOSA is an internationally recognized and accepted evaluation system created in 2001 to assess the operational management and control systems of an airline. IOSA manages ramp audits in a standardised and consistent manner.

For more information refer to www.iata.org

This site is protected by wp-copyrightpro.com